I started last year on a whim through Twitter asking if any scientists would be willing to Skype with my kids. There was no way for me to know if any would say yes to talking with 8th graders. My attitude of it can’t hurt to ask was a benefit because what was the worst thing that would happen, the scientist would say no? They can’t say yes if you don’t ask. 

Now, I’m not going to share everything here since I am doing a session at the Kentucky Science Teacher Association fall conference on this very subject, but I will say ask them. They want to share, they want to help, they want to help inspire. This past week I was able to talk with a Dr Michelle LaRue, a climatologist and had a blast. It was worth the time it took from content since it helped get some of my kids excited about science! How do I know it did, because when you hear kids talking in the hall about it, when their parent email you about it the next day, you know it got them excited. If you are in Lexington, Kentucky November 5th through the 7th you should come to the KSTA conference to learn more about how to help get these experiences in your class.